The Wheat-Free Challenge, Days 0.5 and 1.

I decided from April 7-April 15 (well, April 6th in the afternoon) I would go wheat-free.

The reasons are quite simple:
1. I like challenges to learn new foods, methods, etc.
2. I have friends who are gluten-free and this would give me a glimpse of what they deal with daily.
3. I’m curious how my body will react, slight weight loss, more energy, better digestion, etc. ???? We shall see!

The difference between Wheat-Free and Gluten-Free. Did you know: Wheat-Free does not necessarily mean Gluten-Free.

Goals:

I will make it through just over a week avoiding wheat.  I don’t plant to avoid certain recipes, like muffins, just beacuse the original recipe may contain wheat flour.  I will use alternative flours, such as quinoa flour.  This will give me a chance to test out some new ingredients.

I also don’t plan to buy any groceries for the next week-ish.  Maybe some produce, but absolutely nothing other than eggs, milk, produce if necessary.

I will log daily what was consumed, cooked, baked.

Does anyone have tips? How about some favorite dishes that contain wheat that you would like me to try to make wheat-free?

April 6, started challenge mid-day:

Afternoon snack: tea.
Dinner: Salad with home made dressing, strawberry-banana-mango coconut water-apple smoothie.
Evening treats (In-laws were over for the night): Glass of white wine and stove popped popcorn.

April 7:
Breakfast: Coffee and over easy eggs.
Snack: Munched on leftover popcorn.
Lunch/afternoon snack: Leftover salad of cabbage, onions, corn, kidney beans, chicken, lime and olive oil. A crunchy pickle, yum. Lemon water and tea. All of this spread out over a few hours.
Dinner: Spinach salad with sunflower seeds and a cider vinegar based dressing (recipe to come) on the side, organic zucchini noodles quickly sauteed with olive oil and a pinch of salt with meatballs and tasty sauce from our favorite local place (I’m 99.9% positive he didn’t use bread crumbs of any sort, I forgot to have Bill ask and I didn’t see any evidence of bread crumbs).
Dessert: Peanut Butter-Chocolate-Banana smoothie.

Day .5 and 1 not too difficult!!

This entry was posted in Challenges and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

