These Buns Are To Die For!

I was dreaming…yes…dreaming about black bean burgers this morning.  I wish I had an explination why for you, but I just don’t understand.  So, I have to make black bean burgers today, right? But, I have no buns and to go to the store just isn’t in the cards.

I decided to try a bun recipe from adapted from www.bigoven.com posted by user, sidu.

I am not much of a bread person, usually I can’t get the dough to rise, or I am not patient enough, or I miss one little detail.  Well this attempt worked perfectly, I am not sure if it is because it is an easy recipe, or my lucky day!  The aroma was delightful, and I tore a bun open for a taste test while it was still hot and it was fluffy, sweet and…well…to die for!

Time Breakdown: 5-10 minutes of prep, 8-10 minutes of kneading (by hand or machine), 5 minutes of yeast activation, 2 hours of dough rising, 15-20 minutes of baking, up to 2 hours of cooling (optional).

Ingredients:

0.5 cup warm water
0.5 cup warm milk
2.25 teaspoon active dry yeast
1.5 tablespoon sugar
3 tablespoon melted butter
0.5 teaspoon sea salt
2.5 cups all purpose flour (or, I am guessing 2.25 cups whole wheat flour approx.)
1 egg lightly beaten
2 tablespoon seasme seeds
Pinch sea salt

Preparation:

In a small glass bowl or glass measuring cup, mix water & milk, warm to temperature of 110-115 F. Add sugar and sprinkle yeast on the top, leave for 5 min. after 5 min the mixture should be foamy, add butter.  Add liquid to mixing bowl with flour & salt. Stir with a wooden spoon to bring all together.

Take the dough out on lightly floured surface & knead for 8 minute minimum by hand or in a stand mixer with dough hook, until it becomes smooth. Let the dough rest for 1 hour in an oiled bowl, cover with towel, dough should double in size.

After about 1 hour it will have double in size. Take out air from the dough by ‘punching’ the dough. Lay the dough out on the floured area, divide into 7 or 8 balls.  Lightly shape and place on baking sheet lined with parchment paper (or a parchment mat). Leave them to rise for another hour on a baking tray, when they are double in size brush with beaten egg and sprinkle some seasme seeds and sea salt. Bake in a preheated oven at 400 F for 15-20 minute or until brown from top. take out from oven (eat one right away because they are amazing); cool on wire rack for around 2 hours.  The two hour cool time helps dry the buns out to be sliced – I don’t always wait the entire 2 hours.

I will be making these again with Whole Wheat flour. Probably would only require 2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour? I will get back to you on how that turns out. You could also experiment with adding herbs and cheese to this bun!

Aside | This entry was posted in Healthy Meals & Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to These Buns Are To Die For!

  1. Kierra says:

    Your buns look delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

